Jee’s book review: The Lost Apothecary by Sarah Penner @parkrowbooks #bookreview #historicalfiction #mudlarking #london #thelostapothecary

Title/Author: The Lost Apothecary by Sarah Penner Publisher: Park Row Pages: 269 In a nutshell (Publisher): Named Most Anticipated of 2021 by Newsweek, Good Housekeeping, Hello! magazine, Oprah.com, Bustle, Popsugar, Betches, Sweet July, and GoodReads! March 2021 Indie Next Pick and #1 LibraryReads Pick “A bold, edgy, accomplished debut!” —Kate Quinn, New York Times bestselling author of The Alice Network A forgotten…

Jee’s Book Review: ‘New Yorkers: A City and Its People in Our Time’ by Craig Taylor @wwnorton #bookreview #eARC #NetGalley #NewYorkersbook #NewYorkers #NewYork #nonfiction #interviews

Title/Author: New Yorkers by Craig Taylor Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company Pages: 432 In a nutshell (Publisher): A symphony of contemporary New York through the magnificent words of its people―from the best-selling author of Londoners. In the first twenty years of the twenty-first century, New York City has been convulsed by terrorist attack, blackout, hurricane,…

Jee’s book review ‘THIS IS THE FIRE: What I Say To My Friends About Racism’ by Don Lemon @littlebrown #DonLemon #THISISTHEFIRE #bookreview #nonfiction #racism #americanhistory #booksbyPOC #booksbyblackauthors

Title: THIS IS THE FIRE: What I Say To My Friends About Racism by Don Lemon Publisher: Little Brown & Company In a nutshell (Publisher): In this ‘vital book for these times’ (Kirkus Reviews), Don Lemon brings his vast audience and experience as a reporter and a Black man to today’s most urgent question: How…

Jee reviews ‘Brother, Sister, Mother, Explorer’ by Jamie Figueora @CatapultStory #bookreview #ARC #fable #fairytale #magicalrealism #BrotherSisterMotherExplorer #debutnovel

Title/Author: Brother, Sister, Mother, Explorer by Jamie Figueora #ARC #debutnovel #debutauthor Pages: 224 Publisher: Catapult In a nutshell (Publisher): A sister trying to hold back her brother from the edge of the abyss, for readers of Jesmyn Ward and Tommy Orange. In the tourist town of Ciudad de Tres Hermanas, in the aftermath of their…

Sayonara, Seuss? Time to go, or no? An Asian mom weighs in #DrSeuss #the6ceased #theceased6 #ReadAcrossAmerica #NEA #DrSeuss6books #CancelCulture #TheCatsQuizzer #IfIRanTheZoo #AndToThinkThatISawItonMulberryStreet #ScrambledEggsSuper #McElligotsPool #OnBeyondZebra #SeussLanding #DrSeussExperience

WARNING: Content might be sensitive to some. On Tuesday, March 2, 2021, Dr. Seuss Enterprises released a statement on their website explaining their decision to stop publishing these books, citing that they “portray people in ways that are hurtful and wrong.” The books are: And to Think That I Saw It on Mulberry Street, If I Ran…

Jee reviews ‘Find Me in Havana’ by Serena Burdick @parkrowbooks #FindMeInHavana #bookreview #EstelitaRodriguez #motherdaughterrelationship #HistoricalFiction #NetGalley #basedontruestory #eARC

Title/Author: Find Me In Havana by Serena Burdick Publisher: Park Row Pages: 265 In a nutshell (Publisher): From the bestselling author of THE GIRLS WITH NO NAMES, a new historical novel based on the dazzling story of one of Hollywood’s most celebrated Hispanic actresses and her daughter’s search for closure. “Told in a series of letters, FIND…

Jee reviews ‘Pianos and Flowers: Brief Encounters of the Romantic Kind’ by Alexander McCall Smith @PantheonBooks #PianosandFlowers #shortstories #anthologies #KnopfDoubleDay #fiction #shortstoriescollection #NetGalley #eARC

Title/Author: Pianos and Flowers by Alexander McCall Smith Publisher: Pantheon Pages: 192 In a nutshell (Publisher): A delightful collection of stories and photographs from the author of the No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency series, imagining the lives and loves of everyday people in the twentieth century Pictures capture moments in time, presenting the viewer with…

Jee reviews ‘The Exiles’ by Christina Baker Kline @bakerkline @customhousebks #TheExiles #historicalfiction #Australia #Mathinna #pageturner #TheCascadesFemaleFactory #FlindersIsland

Title/Author: The Exiles by Christina Baker Kline Publisher: Custom House Pages: 380 In a nutshell (Publisher): Seduced by her employer’s son, Evangeline, a naïve young governess in early nineteenth-century London, is discharged when her pregnancy is discovered and sent to the notorious Newgate Prison. After months in the fetid, overcrowded jail, she learns she is…