Jee’s #BookShoutOut ‘America for Americans: A History of Xenophobia in the United States’ by @prof_erikalee is out NOW in PAPERBACK! #AmericaForAmericans @basicbooks #nonfiction #USimmigranthistory #history #asianamericanstudies #xenophobia #booksbypoc

Title/Author: America for Americans: A History of Xenophobia in the United States Publisher: Basic Books Pages: 480 Publication date (Paperback Edition): June 15, 2021 In a nutshell (Publisher): This definitive history of American xenophobia is “essential reading for anyone who wants to build a more inclusive society.” (Ibram X. Kendi, New York Times-bestselling author of How to…

Love learning more about Oceania, its people and indigenous technologies? Check out #Voyagers: The Settlement of the Pacific by Nicholas Thomas @basicbooks #nonfiction #history #bookshoutout

Title/Author: VOYAGERS: The Settlement of the Pacific by Nicholas Thomas Publisher: Basic Books Publication date: June 15, 2021 Pages: 224 In a nutshell (Publisher): The islands of Polynesia, Melanesia, and Micronesia stretch across thousands of miles of ocean and encompass a multitude of different peoples. Starting with Captain James Cook, the earliest European explorers to…

Jee’s Book Review: ‘The Final Revival of Opal and Nev’ by Dawnie Walton @simonschuster #OpalNev #NetGalley #BookReview #fiction #BooksbyPOC #eARC #BooksbyBlackAuthors #debutnovel #newauthor

Title/Author: The Final Revival of Opal & Nev by Dawnie Walton Publisher: Simon & Schuster Pages: 367 In a nutshell (Publisher): An electrifying novel about the meteoric rise of an iconic interracial rock duo in the 1970s, their sensational breakup, and the dark secrets unearthed when they try to reunite decades later for one last…

Jee’s book review: Spark: How Genius Ignites, From Child Prodigies to Late Bloomers by @claudiakalbwriter #SparkGenius #bookreview #nonfiction @tlcbooktours #tlcbooktours

Title: Spark: How Genius Ignites, From Child Prodigies to Late Bloomers by Claudia Kalb Publisher: National Geographic (April 27, 2021) Hardcover: 368 pages In a nutshell (Publisher): Yo-Yo Ma’s ear for music emerged not long after he learned to walk. By the age of seven, he was performing for President Kennedy; by fifteen he debuted at…

Jee’s book review: The Lost Apothecary by Sarah Penner @parkrowbooks #bookreview #historicalfiction #mudlarking #london #thelostapothecary

Title/Author: The Lost Apothecary by Sarah Penner Publisher: Park Row Pages: 269 In a nutshell (Publisher): Named Most Anticipated of 2021 by Newsweek, Good Housekeeping, Hello! magazine, Oprah.com, Bustle, Popsugar, Betches, Sweet July, and GoodReads! March 2021 Indie Next Pick and #1 LibraryReads Pick “A bold, edgy, accomplished debut!” —Kate Quinn, New York Times bestselling author of The Alice Network A forgotten…

Jee’s Book Review: ‘New Yorkers: A City and Its People in Our Time’ by Craig Taylor @wwnorton #bookreview #eARC #NetGalley #NewYorkersbook #NewYorkers #NewYork #nonfiction #interviews

Title/Author: New Yorkers by Craig Taylor Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company Pages: 432 In a nutshell (Publisher): A symphony of contemporary New York through the magnificent words of its people―from the best-selling author of Londoners. In the first twenty years of the twenty-first century, New York City has been convulsed by terrorist attack, blackout, hurricane,…

Jee’s book review ‘THIS IS THE FIRE: What I Say To My Friends About Racism’ by Don Lemon @littlebrown #DonLemon #THISISTHEFIRE #bookreview #nonfiction #racism #americanhistory #booksbyPOC #booksbyblackauthors

Title: THIS IS THE FIRE: What I Say To My Friends About Racism by Don Lemon Publisher: Little Brown & Company In a nutshell (Publisher): In this ‘vital book for these times’ (Kirkus Reviews), Don Lemon brings his vast audience and experience as a reporter and a Black man to today’s most urgent question: How…

Jee reviews ‘Brother, Sister, Mother, Explorer’ by Jamie Figueora @CatapultStory #bookreview #ARC #fable #fairytale #magicalrealism #fiction #BrotherSisterMotherExplorer #debutnovel #booksbypoc

Title/Author: Brother, Sister, Mother, Explorer by Jamie Figueora #ARC #debutnovel #debutauthor Pages: 224 Publisher: Catapult In a nutshell (Publisher): A sister trying to hold back her brother from the edge of the abyss, for readers of Jesmyn Ward and Tommy Orange. In the tourist town of Ciudad de Tres Hermanas, in the aftermath of their…

Sayonara, Seuss? Time to go, or no? An Asian mom weighs in #DrSeuss #the6ceased #theceased6 #ReadAcrossAmerica #NEA #DrSeuss6books #CancelCulture #TheCatsQuizzer #IfIRanTheZoo #AndToThinkThatISawItonMulberryStreet #ScrambledEggsSuper #McElligotsPool #OnBeyondZebra #SeussLanding #DrSeussExperience

WARNING: Content might be sensitive to some. On Tuesday, March 2, 2021, Dr. Seuss Enterprises released a statement on their website explaining their decision to stop publishing these books, citing that they “portray people in ways that are hurtful and wrong.” The books are: And to Think That I Saw It on Mulberry Street, If I Ran…