Jee’s Book Review: ‘The Final Revival of Opal and Nev’ by Dawnie Walton @simonschuster #OpalNev #NetGalley #BookReview #fiction #BooksbyPOC #eARC #BooksbyBlackAuthors #debutnovel #newauthor

Title/Author: The Final Revival of Opal & Nev by Dawnie Walton Publisher: Simon & Schuster Pages: 367 In a nutshell (Publisher): An electrifying novel about the meteoric rise of an iconic interracial rock duo in the 1970s, their sensational breakup, and the dark secrets unearthed when they try to reunite decades later for one last…

Jee reviews ‘Brother, Sister, Mother, Explorer’ by Jamie Figueora @CatapultStory #bookreview #ARC #fable #fairytale #magicalrealism #fiction #BrotherSisterMotherExplorer #debutnovel #booksbypoc

Title/Author: Brother, Sister, Mother, Explorer by Jamie Figueora #ARC #debutnovel #debutauthor Pages: 224 Publisher: Catapult In a nutshell (Publisher): A sister trying to hold back her brother from the edge of the abyss, for readers of Jesmyn Ward and Tommy Orange. In the tourist town of Ciudad de Tres Hermanas, in the aftermath of their…

A novel that left a lasting impression on me. Jee reviews ‘If I Had Your Face’ by @Frances_H_Cha @RandomHouse #BallantineBooks #bookreview #debutnovel #Seoul #SouthKorea #femalefriendship #plasticsurgery #booksbypoc #asianlit

Title/Author: If I Had Your Face by Frances Cha Publisher: Ballantine House Pages: 274 In a nutshell (Publisher): “Absolutely stunning . . . If I Had Your Face marks the entrance of a bright new voice in fiction.”—Taylor Jenkins Reid, New York Times bestselling author of Daisy Jones & The Six Kyuri is an achingly beautiful woman with a hard-won…

Jee reviews a #scifi novel with strong characters and brilliant world-building: #TheVanishedBirds by Simon Jimenez #Spoilerfree @DelRayBooks @randomhouse #NetGalley #debutnovel #eARC #interstellartravel

Title/Author: The Vanished Birds by Simon Jimenez Publisher: Del Ray Pages: 400 Published: January 14, 2020 In a nutshell (Publisher): A solitary ship captain, drifting through time. Nia Imani is a woman out of place. Traveling through the stars condenses decades into mere months for her, though the years continue to march steadily onward for…

Jee’s Author Feature: Interview with National Book Award Finalist, Julia Phillips, on Kamchatka and her inspiration behind ‘Disappearing Earth’ #NationalBestSeller #NationalBookAwardFinalist #debutAuthor #AuthorInterview @jkbphillips #DisappearingEarth @AAKnopf

Julia Phillips is the author of Disappearing Earth, a National Bestseller and a National Book Award Finalist. Her debut is being published in thirteen countries and has been named one of the best books of 2019 so far by Vanity Fair, USA Today, and Entertainment Weekly. And many sang its praises: Tayari Jones, ‘An “astonishing…

Jee reviews ‘The Ten Thousand Doors of January’ by Alix E. Harrow #UnpopularOpinion #eARC #NetGalley #RedHook @HachetteUS #HistoricalFantasy #MagicalRealism

Title/Author: The Ten Thousand Doors of January by Alix E. Harrow Publisher: Redhook In a nutshell (Publisher): In the early 1900s, a young woman embarks on a fantastical journey of self-discovery after finding a mysterious book in this captivating and lyrical debut.In a sprawling mansion filled with peculiar treasures, January Scaller is a curiosity herself….

Jee reviews #TheDollFactory by Elizabeth McNeal @esmacneal #eARC #NetGalley @EmilyBestler @AtriaBooks #Fiction #Debut #gothicFiction #psychologicalthriller

Title/Author: The Doll Factory by Elizabeth McNeal Publisher: Atria Books/Emily Bestler In a nutshell (Publisher): Obsession is an art. In this “sharp, scary, gorgeously evocative tale of love, art, and obsession” (Paula Hawkins, bestselling author of The Girl on the Train), a beautiful young woman aspires to be an artist, while a man’s dark obsession may…

Jee’s mini reviews of #HollowKingdom by Kira Jane Buxton @KiraJaneWrites @GrandCentralPub & #TheHauntingofTramCar015 by P. Djeli Clark @pdjeliclark @TorDotComPub #scifi #fantasy @DBookFestival #dbf2019

Title/Author: Hollow Kingdom by Kira Jane Buxton Publisher: Grand Central Publishing In a nutshell (Publisher): S.T., a domesticated crow, is a bird of simple pleasures: hanging out with his owner Big Jim, trading insults with Seattle’s wild crows (those idiots), and enjoying the finest food humankind has to offer: Cheetos ®. Then Big Jim’s eyeball…