Jee reviews ‘People From My Neighborhood’ by Hiromi Kawakami translated by Ted Goossen #PeopleFromMyNeighborhood @softskull #bookreview #ARC #HiromiKawakami #shortstories #magicalrealism #fables #myths #AsianAuthor #AsianLit #JapaneseLit #Japan #SoftSkullPress #JapaneseAuthor #translatedbook

Title/Author: People From My Neighborhood by Hiromi Kawakami Publisher: Soft Skull Press Pages: 176 In a nutshell (Publisher): From the author of the internationally bestselling Strange Weather in Tokyo, a collection of interlinking stories that masterfully blend the mundane and the mythical—”fairy tales in the best Brothers Grimm tradition: naïf, magical, and frequently veering into the…

Of haunted jungles, macabre mansions, possessed lands and bodies…Jee reviews ‘Build Your House Around My Body’ by Violet Kupersmith @oneworldnews @randomhouse #bookreview #fiction #asianlit #booksbypoc #bookreview #magicalrealism #asianfolklore #Vietnam #FrenchWar #buildyourhousearoundmybody

Title/Author: Build Your House Around My Body by Violet Kupersmith Publisher: Random House Pages: 400 In a nutshell (Publisher): Two young women go missing decades apart. Both are fearless, both are lost. And both will have their revenge.1986: The teenage daughter of a wealthy Vietnamese family loses her way in an abandoned rubber plantation while…

Jee reviews ‘The Book of Magic’ by Alice Hoffman @SimonSchuster #UnpopularOpinion #bookreview #TheBookOfMagic #PracticalMagicFinale #PracticalMagicSeries #series #magicalrealism #witches #favauthor #fiction

Title/Author: The Book of Magic by Alice Hoffman Publisher: Simon & Schuster Pages: 396 In a nutshell (Publisher): The Owens family has been cursed in matters of love for over three-hundred years but all of that is about to change. The novel begins in a library, the best place for a story to be conjured,…

Jee reviews ‘Brother, Sister, Mother, Explorer’ by Jamie Figueora @CatapultStory #bookreview #ARC #fable #fairytale #magicalrealism #fiction #BrotherSisterMotherExplorer #debutnovel #booksbypoc

Title/Author: Brother, Sister, Mother, Explorer by Jamie Figueora #ARC #debutnovel #debutauthor Pages: 224 Publisher: Catapult In a nutshell (Publisher): A sister trying to hold back her brother from the edge of the abyss, for readers of Jesmyn Ward and Tommy Orange. In the tourist town of Ciudad de Tres Hermanas, in the aftermath of their…

Looking for a dark, magical read for Christmas? Jee reviews ‘The Midnight Circus’ by @JaneYolen @TachyonPub #bookreview #TheMidnightCircus #darkfairytales #folklore #fantasy #magic #magicalrealism #retelling

Title/Author: The Midnight Circus by Jane Yolen Publisher: Tachyon Publication Pages: 256 In a nutshell (Publisher): In the newest volume of her World Fantasy Award-winning short story collections, beloved author Jane Yolen’s dark side has fully emerged. Her vivid, startling, and thrilling tales and poems of the supernatural―from icy-hearted witches to sometimes-innocent shapeshifters―reveal a classic…

Jee reviews #Earthlings by Sayaka Murata translated by Ginny Tapley Takemori @GroveAtlantic #bookreview #NetGalley #eARC #comingofage #alienation #grotesque #horror #magicalrealism #bizarre #asianlit #japaneselit

Title/Author: Earthlings by Sayaka Murata Publisher: Grove Press Pages: 240 In a nutshell (Publisher): From the beloved author of cult sensation Convenience Store Woman, which has now sold more than one million copies worldwide and has been translated into thirty-three languages, comes a spellbinding and otherworldly novel about a woman who believes she is an alien….

Jee reviews a heartbreaking yet powerful read – #TheRevisioners by Margaret Wilkerson Sexton @MWilkers13 @CounterpointLLC #historicalfiction #AfricanAmerican #racism

Title/Author: The Revisioners by Margaret Wilkerson Sexton Publisher: Counterpoint Press In a nutshell (Publisher): “[A] stunning new novel . . . Sexton’s writing is clear and uncluttered, the dialogue authentic, with all the cadences of real speech… This is a novel about the women, the mothers.” ―New York Times Book Review “A powerful tale of…