Jee reviews ‘Brother, Sister, Mother, Explorer’ by Jamie Figueora @CatapultStory #bookreview #ARC #fable #fairytale #magicalrealism #BrotherSisterMotherExplorer #debutnovel

Title/Author: Brother, Sister, Mother, Explorer by Jamie Figueora #ARC #debutnovel #debutauthor Pages: 224 Publisher: Catapult In a nutshell (Publisher): A sister trying to hold back her brother from the edge of the abyss, for readers of Jesmyn Ward and Tommy Orange. In the tourist town of Ciudad de Tres Hermanas, in the aftermath of their…

Jee reviews ‘Find Me in Havana’ by Serena Burdick @parkrowbooks #FindMeInHavana #bookreview #EstelitaRodriguez #motherdaughterrelationship #HistoricalFiction #NetGalley #basedontruestory #eARC

Title/Author: Find Me In Havana by Serena Burdick Publisher: Park Row Pages: 265 In a nutshell (Publisher): From the bestselling author of THE GIRLS WITH NO NAMES, a new historical novel based on the dazzling story of one of Hollywood’s most celebrated Hispanic actresses and her daughter’s search for closure. “Told in a series of letters, FIND…

Jee’s Book Review: ‘Becoming’ by Michelle Obama @CrownPublishing #biography #memoir #becoming #becomingbook #michelleobama #mrsObama #FLOTUS

Title/Author: Becoming by Michelle Obama Publisher: Crown Publishing Pages: 448 In a nutshell (Publisher): In a life filled with meaning and accomplishment, Michelle Obama has emerged as one of the most iconic and compelling women of our era. As First Lady of the United States of America—the first African American to serve in that role—she…

Looking for a dark, magical read for Christmas? Jee reviews ‘The Midnight Circus’ by @JaneYolen @TachyonPub #bookreview #TheMidnightCircus #darkfairytales #folklore #fantasy #magic #magicalrealism #retelling

Title/Author: The Midnight Circus by Jane Yolen Publisher: Tachyon Publication Pages: 256 In a nutshell (Publisher): In the newest volume of her World Fantasy Award-winning short story collections, beloved author Jane Yolen’s dark side has fully emerged. Her vivid, startling, and thrilling tales and poems of the supernatural―from icy-hearted witches to sometimes-innocent shapeshifters―reveal a classic…

Jee reviews ‘The Cousins’ by Karen M. McManus @The_WriteReads @PenguinPlatform @PenguinUKBooks #thecousins #UltimateBlogTour #eARC #TheWriteReads #NetGalley #bookreview #YA #thriller

Title/Author: The Cousins by Karen M. McManus Publisher: Penguin Random House Children’s UK Pages: 336 Publication date: Dec 03, 2020 In a nutshell: The Storys are the envy of their neighbours: owners of the largest property on their East Coast island, they are rich, beautiful, and close. Until it all falls apart. The four children…

Jee’s Book Review: Anxious People by Fredrik Backman @Backmanland @AtriaBooks #bookreview #fiction #FredrikBackman #AnxiousPeople

Title/Author: Anxious People by Fredrik Backman Publisher: Atria Books Pages: 349 In a nutshell (Publisher): From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of A Man Called Ove comes a charming, poignant novel about a crime that never took place, a would-be bank robber who disappears into thin air, and eight extremely anxious strangers who find they have more…

Jee’s Book Review: ‘The Mountains Sing’ by Nguyễn Phan Quế Mai @nguyen_p_quemai @AlgonquinBooks #TheMountainsSing #bookreview #comingofage #VietnamWar #historicalfiction #familysaga #warfiction #theGreatFamine #theLandReform #booksbypoc

Title/Author: The Mountains Sing by Nguyễn Phan Quế Mai Publisher: Algonquin Books Pages: In a nutshell (Publisher): With the epic sweep of Min Jin Lee’s Pachinko or Yaa Gyasi’s Homegoing and the lyrical beauty of Vaddey Ratner’s In the Shadow of the Banyan, The Mountains Sing tells an enveloping, multigenerational tale of the Tran family, set against the backdrop of the Viet…

Jee reviews #Earthlings by Sayaka Murata translated by Ginny Tapley Takemori @GroveAtlantic #bookreview #NetGalley #eARC #comingofage #alienation #grotesque #horror #magicalrealism #bizarre

Title/Author: Earthlings by Sayaka Murata Publisher: Grove Press Pages: 240 In a nutshell (Publisher): From the beloved author of cult sensation Convenience Store Woman, which has now sold more than one million copies worldwide and has been translated into thirty-three languages, comes a spellbinding and otherworldly novel about a woman who believes she is an alien….

Book review ‘Ring Shout’ by @pdjeliclark @TorDotComPub #bookreview #NetGalley #eARC #ringshoutbook #ringshout #supernatural #darkfantasy #historicalfantasy #racism #booksbyblackauthors

Title/Author: Ring Shout by P. Djeli Clark Publisher: Tordotcom Pages: 192 In a nutshell (Publisher): Nebula, Locus, and Alex Award-winner P. Djèlí Clark returns with Ring Shout, a dark fantasy historical novella that gives a supernatural twist to the Ku Klux Klan’s reign of terror IN AMERICA, DEMONS WEAR WHITE HOODS. In 1915, The Birth of a…

Absolutely engrossing and spellbinding! Jee reviews ‘Magic Lessons’ by Alice Hoffman @ahoffmanwriter @simonbooks #bookreview #prequel to #PracticalMagic #eARC #NetGalley #MagicLessons #witchcraft #Salem #witchtrial #adultfairytale

Title/Author: Magic Lessons: The Prequel to Practical Magic by Alice Hoffman Publisher:  Simon & Schuster Pages: 416 In a nutshell (Publisher): Alice Hoffman unveils the story of Maria Owens, accused of witchcraft in Salem, and matriarch of a line of the amazing Owens women and men featured in Practical Magic and The Rules of Magic. Where does the…