Jee reviews Ghost Forest by Pik-Shuen Fung @OneWorldLit #GhostForest #bookreview #asianlit #booksbypoc #debutnovel #fiction #asianliterature #immigrantstory #astronautfamily #chineseculture

Title/Author: Ghost Forest by Pik-Shuen Fung Publisher: One World Pages: 202 In a nutshell (Publisher): This “powerful” (BuzzFeed) debut about love, grief, and family welcomes you into its pages and invites you to linger, staying with you long after you’ve closed its covers. “I am madly in love with this book, a kaleidoscopic wonder.”—T Kira Madden, author…

Is Jacob guilty of murder? Jee reviews ‘Defending Jacob’ by William Landay #SPOILERFREE #bookreview #defendingjacob #legalthriller #TVseries #courtroomdrama #family #parenting #fiction

Title/Author: Defending Jacob by William Landay Publisher: Delacorte Press Pages: 432 In a nutshell (Publisher): NOW AN EMMY-NOMINATED ORIGINAL STREAMING SERIES • NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY Entertainment Weekly • Boston Globe • Kansas City Star Andy Barber has been an assistant district attorney for two decades. He is respected. Admired in the courtroom. Happy at home…

Jee reviews ‘Strange Weather in Tokyo’ by Hiromi Kawakami translated by Allison Markin Powell @CounterpointLLC #bookreview #asianauthor #booksbypoc #asianliterature #asianlit #japliterature #strangeweatherintokyo #favoriteread #translatedbook

Title/Author: Strange Weather in Tokyo by Hiromi Kawakami translated by Allison Markin Powell Publisher: Counterpoint LLC Pages: 190 In a nutshell (Publisher): Shortlisted for the 2013 Man Asian Literary Prize, Strange Weather in Tokyo is a story of loneliness and love that defies age. Tsukiko, thirty–eight, works in an office and lives alone. One night, she happens…

Jee’s Book Review: ‘The Final Revival of Opal and Nev’ by Dawnie Walton @simonschuster #OpalNev #NetGalley #BookReview #fiction #BooksbyPOC #eARC #BooksbyBlackAuthors #debutnovel #newauthor

Title/Author: The Final Revival of Opal & Nev by Dawnie Walton Publisher: Simon & Schuster Pages: 367 In a nutshell (Publisher): An electrifying novel about the meteoric rise of an iconic interracial rock duo in the 1970s, their sensational breakup, and the dark secrets unearthed when they try to reunite decades later for one last…

Jee’s Book Review: ‘New Yorkers: A City and Its People in Our Time’ by Craig Taylor @wwnorton #bookreview #eARC #NetGalley #NewYorkersbook #NewYorkers #NewYork #nonfiction #interviews

Title/Author: New Yorkers by Craig Taylor Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company Pages: 432 In a nutshell (Publisher): A symphony of contemporary New York through the magnificent words of its people―from the best-selling author of Londoners. In the first twenty years of the twenty-first century, New York City has been convulsed by terrorist attack, blackout, hurricane,…

Jee reviews ‘Brother, Sister, Mother, Explorer’ by Jamie Figueora @CatapultStory #bookreview #ARC #fable #fairytale #magicalrealism #fiction #BrotherSisterMotherExplorer #debutnovel #booksbypoc

Title/Author: Brother, Sister, Mother, Explorer by Jamie Figueora #ARC #debutnovel #debutauthor Pages: 224 Publisher: Catapult In a nutshell (Publisher): A sister trying to hold back her brother from the edge of the abyss, for readers of Jesmyn Ward and Tommy Orange. In the tourist town of Ciudad de Tres Hermanas, in the aftermath of their…

Jee reviews ‘Find Me in Havana’ by Serena Burdick @parkrowbooks #FindMeInHavana #bookreview #EstelitaRodriguez #motherdaughterrelationship #HistoricalFiction #NetGalley #basedontruestory #eARC

Title/Author: Find Me In Havana by Serena Burdick Publisher: Park Row Pages: 265 In a nutshell (Publisher): From the bestselling author of THE GIRLS WITH NO NAMES, a new historical novel based on the dazzling story of one of Hollywood’s most celebrated Hispanic actresses and her daughter’s search for closure. “Told in a series of letters, FIND…

Jee’s Book Review: ‘Becoming’ by Michelle Obama @CrownPublishing #biography #memoir #becoming #becomingbook #michelleobama #mrsObama #FLOTUS

Title/Author: Becoming by Michelle Obama Publisher: Crown Publishing Pages: 448 In a nutshell (Publisher): In a life filled with meaning and accomplishment, Michelle Obama has emerged as one of the most iconic and compelling women of our era. As First Lady of the United States of America—the first African American to serve in that role—she…

Looking for a dark, magical read for Christmas? Jee reviews ‘The Midnight Circus’ by @JaneYolen @TachyonPub #bookreview #TheMidnightCircus #darkfairytales #folklore #fantasy #magic #magicalrealism #retelling

Title/Author: The Midnight Circus by Jane Yolen Publisher: Tachyon Publication Pages: 256 In a nutshell (Publisher): In the newest volume of her World Fantasy Award-winning short story collections, beloved author Jane Yolen’s dark side has fully emerged. Her vivid, startling, and thrilling tales and poems of the supernatural―from icy-hearted witches to sometimes-innocent shapeshifters―reveal a classic…

Jee reviews ‘The Cousins’ by Karen M. McManus @The_WriteReads @PenguinPlatform @PenguinUKBooks #thecousins #UltimateBlogTour #eARC #TheWriteReads #NetGalley #bookreview #YA #thriller

Title/Author: The Cousins by Karen M. McManus Publisher: Penguin Random House Children’s UK Pages: 336 Publication date: Dec 03, 2020 In a nutshell: The Storys are the envy of their neighbours: owners of the largest property on their East Coast island, they are rich, beautiful, and close. Until it all falls apart. The four children…