Jee reviews ‘She Who Became the Sun’ by Shelley Parker-Chan @torbooks #SheWhoBecameTheSun #bookreview #booksbypoc #eARC #NetGalley #debutnovel #fantasy #histfic #fiction #historicalfantasy

Title/Author: She Who Became The Sun by Shelley Parker-Chan Publisher: Tor Books Pages: 404 In a nutshell (Publisher): To possess the Mandate of Heaven, the female monk Zhu will do anything “I refuse to be nothing…” In a famine-stricken village on a dusty yellow plain, two children are given two fates. A boy, greatness. A…

Jee reviews Ghost Forest by Pik-Shuen Fung @OneWorldLit #GhostForest #bookreview #asianlit #booksbypoc #debutnovel #fiction #asianliterature #immigrantstory #astronautfamily #chineseculture

Title/Author: Ghost Forest by Pik-Shuen Fung Publisher: One World Pages: 202 In a nutshell (Publisher): This “powerful” (BuzzFeed) debut about love, grief, and family welcomes you into its pages and invites you to linger, staying with you long after you’ve closed its covers. “I am madly in love with this book, a kaleidoscopic wonder.”—T Kira Madden, author…

Jee’s #BookShoutOut ‘America for Americans: A History of Xenophobia in the United States’ by @prof_erikalee is out NOW in PAPERBACK! #AmericaForAmericans @basicbooks #nonfiction #USimmigranthistory #history #asianamericanstudies #xenophobia #booksbypoc

Title/Author: America for Americans: A History of Xenophobia in the United States Publisher: Basic Books Pages: 480 Publication date (Paperback Edition): June 15, 2021 In a nutshell (Publisher): This definitive history of American xenophobia is “essential reading for anyone who wants to build a more inclusive society.” (Ibram X. Kendi, New York Times-bestselling author of How to…

Jee’s Book Review: ‘The Final Revival of Opal and Nev’ by Dawnie Walton @simonschuster #OpalNev #NetGalley #BookReview #fiction #BooksbyPOC #eARC #BooksbyBlackAuthors #debutnovel #newauthor

Title/Author: The Final Revival of Opal & Nev by Dawnie Walton Publisher: Simon & Schuster Pages: 367 In a nutshell (Publisher): An electrifying novel about the meteoric rise of an iconic interracial rock duo in the 1970s, their sensational breakup, and the dark secrets unearthed when they try to reunite decades later for one last…

Jee reviews ‘Brother, Sister, Mother, Explorer’ by Jamie Figueora @CatapultStory #bookreview #ARC #fable #fairytale #magicalrealism #fiction #BrotherSisterMotherExplorer #debutnovel #booksbypoc

Title/Author: Brother, Sister, Mother, Explorer by Jamie Figueora #ARC #debutnovel #debutauthor Pages: 224 Publisher: Catapult In a nutshell (Publisher): A sister trying to hold back her brother from the edge of the abyss, for readers of Jesmyn Ward and Tommy Orange. In the tourist town of Ciudad de Tres Hermanas, in the aftermath of their…

Jee’s Book Review: ‘The Mountains Sing’ by Nguyễn Phan Quế Mai @nguyen_p_quemai @AlgonquinBooks #TheMountainsSing #bookreview #comingofage #VietnamWar #historicalfiction #familysaga #warfiction #theGreatFamine #theLandReform #booksbypoc

Title/Author: The Mountains Sing by Nguyễn Phan Quế Mai Publisher: Algonquin Books Pages: In a nutshell (Publisher): With the epic sweep of Min Jin Lee’s Pachinko or Yaa Gyasi’s Homegoing and the lyrical beauty of Vaddey Ratner’s In the Shadow of the Banyan, The Mountains Sing tells an enveloping, multigenerational tale of the Tran family, set against the backdrop of the Viet…

When looking for answers to life and its problems, do you turn to #God or #Science? Jee reviews ‘Transcendent Kingdom’ by #YaaGyasi #bookreview #TranscendentKingdom #literaryfiction @AAKnopf #science #religion #faith #booksbypoc #booksbyblackauthors

Title/Author: Transcendent Kingdom Publisher: Knopf  Pages: 266 In a nutshell (Publisher): Gifty is a sixth-year PhD candidate in neuroscience at the Stanford University School of Medicine studying reward-seeking behavior in mice and the neural circuits of depression and addiction. Her brother, Nana, was a gifted high school athlete who died of a heroin overdose after…

I was surprised by how much I enjoyed this debut! Jee reviews ‘#Unbound: A Tale of Love and Betrayal in Shanghai’ by Dina Gu Brumfield @smithpublicity @GreenleafBookGr #OwnVoices #Shanghai #CulturalRevolution #China #bookreview #blogtour #booksbypoc #asianlit

Title/Author: Unbound by Dina Gu Brumfield Publisher: Greenleaf Book Group Pages: 416 In a nutshell (Publisher): The sweeping, multigenerational story of two iron-willed women, a grandmother and granddaughter, Unbound is also a richly textured, turbulent portrait of the city of Shanghai in the twentieth century–a place where everyone must fight to carve out a place…

A novel that left a lasting impression on me. Jee reviews ‘If I Had Your Face’ by @Frances_H_Cha @RandomHouse #BallantineBooks #bookreview #debutnovel #Seoul #SouthKorea #femalefriendship #plasticsurgery #booksbypoc #asianlit

Title/Author: If I Had Your Face by Frances Cha Publisher: Ballantine House Pages: 274 In a nutshell (Publisher): “Absolutely stunning . . . If I Had Your Face marks the entrance of a bright new voice in fiction.”—Taylor Jenkins Reid, New York Times bestselling author of Daisy Jones & The Six Kyuri is an achingly beautiful woman with a hard-won…