Jee’s Book Review: ‘The Final Revival of Opal and Nev’ by Dawnie Walton @simonschuster #OpalNev #NetGalley #BookReview #fiction #BooksbyPOC #eARC #BooksbyBlackAuthors #debutnovel #newauthor

Title/Author: The Final Revival of Opal & Nev by Dawnie Walton Publisher: Simon & Schuster Pages: 367 In a nutshell (Publisher): An electrifying novel about the meteoric rise of an iconic interracial rock duo in the 1970s, their sensational breakup, and the dark secrets unearthed when they try to reunite decades later for one last…

Jee reviews ‘Brother, Sister, Mother, Explorer’ by Jamie Figueora @CatapultStory #bookreview #ARC #fable #fairytale #magicalrealism #fiction #BrotherSisterMotherExplorer #debutnovel #booksbypoc

Title/Author: Brother, Sister, Mother, Explorer by Jamie Figueora #ARC #debutnovel #debutauthor Pages: 224 Publisher: Catapult In a nutshell (Publisher): A sister trying to hold back her brother from the edge of the abyss, for readers of Jesmyn Ward and Tommy Orange. In the tourist town of Ciudad de Tres Hermanas, in the aftermath of their…

Jee reviews a #scifi novel with strong characters and brilliant world-building: #TheVanishedBirds by Simon Jimenez #Spoilerfree @DelRayBooks @randomhouse #NetGalley #debutnovel #eARC #interstellartravel

Title/Author: The Vanished Birds by Simon Jimenez Publisher: Del Ray Pages: 400 Published: January 14, 2020 In a nutshell (Publisher): A solitary ship captain, drifting through time. Nia Imani is a woman out of place. Traveling through the stars condenses decades into mere months for her, though the years continue to march steadily onward for…

Jee reviews ‘The Ten Thousand Doors of January’ by Alix E. Harrow #UnpopularOpinion #eARC #NetGalley #RedHook @HachetteUS #HistoricalFantasy #MagicalRealism

Title/Author: The Ten Thousand Doors of January by Alix E. Harrow Publisher: Redhook In a nutshell (Publisher): In the early 1900s, a young woman embarks on a fantastical journey of self-discovery after finding a mysterious book in this captivating and lyrical debut.In a sprawling mansion filled with peculiar treasures, January Scaller is a curiosity herself….

Jee reviews #DisappearingEarth by Julia Phillips @AAKnopf @DBookFestival #dbf2019 #debutNovel #fiction

Title/Author: Disappearing Earth by Julia Phillips Publisher: Knopf In a nutshell: One August afternoon, on the shoreline of the Kamchatka peninsula at the northeastern edge of Russia, two girls–sisters, eight and eleven–go missing. In the ensuing weeks, then months, the police investigation turns up nothing. Echoes of the disappearance reverberate across a tightly woven community,…

Jee reviews #TheAtlasofRedsandBlues by @DevisLaskar @CounterpointLLC #biographicalfiction #fiction Looking forward to meeting her at the @DBookFestival #dbf2019 !!

Title/Author: The Atlas of Blues and REds by Devi S Laskar Publisher: Counterpoint LLC In a nutshell (Publisher): When a woman—known only as Mother—moves her family from Atlanta to its wealthy suburbs, she discovers that neither the times nor the people have changed since her childhood in a small Southern town. Despite the intervening decades,…