Jee reviews ‘Brother, Sister, Mother, Explorer’ by Jamie Figueora @CatapultStory #bookreview #ARC #fable #fairytale #magicalrealism #BrotherSisterMotherExplorer #debutnovel

Title/Author: Brother, Sister, Mother, Explorer by Jamie Figueora #ARC #debutnovel #debutauthor Pages: 224 Publisher: Catapult In a nutshell (Publisher): A sister trying to hold back her brother from the edge of the abyss, for readers of Jesmyn Ward and Tommy Orange. In the tourist town of Ciudad de Tres Hermanas, in the aftermath of their…

Jee reviews ‘Pianos and Flowers: Brief Encounters of the Romantic Kind’ by Alexander McCall Smith @PantheonBooks #PianosandFlowers #shortstories #anthologies #KnopfDoubleDay #fiction #shortstoriescollection #NetGalley #eARC

Title/Author: Pianos and Flowers by Alexander McCall Smith Publisher: Pantheon Pages: 192 In a nutshell (Publisher): A delightful collection of stories and photographs from the author of the No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency series, imagining the lives and loves of everyday people in the twentieth century Pictures capture moments in time, presenting the viewer with…

Jee reviews ‘The Exiles’ by Christina Baker Kline @bakerkline @customhousebks #TheExiles #historicalfiction #Australia #Mathinna #pageturner #TheCascadesFemaleFactory #FlindersIsland

Title/Author: The Exiles by Christina Baker Kline Publisher: Custom House Pages: 380 In a nutshell (Publisher): Seduced by her employer’s son, Evangeline, a naïve young governess in early nineteenth-century London, is discharged when her pregnancy is discovered and sent to the notorious Newgate Prison. After months in the fetid, overcrowded jail, she learns she is…

Jee’s Book Review: Anxious People by Fredrik Backman @Backmanland @AtriaBooks #bookreview #fiction #FredrikBackman #AnxiousPeople

Title/Author: Anxious People by Fredrik Backman Publisher: Atria Books Pages: 349 In a nutshell (Publisher): From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of A Man Called Ove comes a charming, poignant novel about a crime that never took place, a would-be bank robber who disappears into thin air, and eight extremely anxious strangers who find they have more…

Jee reviews ‘Betty by Tiffany McDaniel’ @AAKnopf #bookreview #betty #bettybook #eARC #TiffanyMcDaniel #racism #sexism #abuse #comingofage #poverty #fiction #basedontruestory

Title/Author: Betty by Tiffany McDaniel Publisher: Knopf  In a nutshell (Publisher): A stunning, lyrical novel set in the rolling foothills of the Appalachians about a young girl and the family truths that will haunt her for the rest of her life “A girl comes of age against the knife.” So begins the story of Betty…

Jee reviews ‘Last One Out Shut Off The Lights’ by Stephanie Soileau @SMSoileau! Come check out this stunning collection of short stories and enter the giveaway to win a copy for yourself! @littlebrown #bookreview #shortstories #giveaway #debut #fiction #Louisiana

Title/Author: Last One Out Shut Off the Lights by Stephanie Soileau Publisher: Little Brown & Company Pages: 256 In a nutshell: Last One Out Shut Off the Lights is an evocative portrait of the last-chance towns of southwest Louisiana, where oil development, industrial pollution, dying wetlands, and the ever-present threat of devastating hurricanes have eroded their…

Hilarious, full of heart and unputdownable! Jee reviews ‘Deacon King Kong’ by James McBride #DeaconKingKong #bookreview @Riverheadbooks #JamesMcBride #OprahsBookClub #fiction #drugwar #race #class

Title/Author: Deacon King Kong by James McBride Publisher: Riverhead Books Pages: 383 In a nutshell (Publisher): From the author of the National Book Award–winning The Good Lord Bird and the bestselling modern classic The Color of Water, comes one of the most celebrated novels of the year. In September 1969, a fumbling, cranky old church deacon known as…

What if Hillary didn’t marry Bill Clinton? Jee reviews ‘Rodham’ by Curtis Sittenfeld @RandomHouse #Bookreview #WhatIf #Fiction #WomenLeaders #powerfulwomen #Hillary #Rodham

Title/Author: Rodham by Curtis Sittenfeld Publisher: Random House Pages: 420 In a nutshell: In 1971, Hillary Rodham is a young woman full of promise: Life magazine has covered her Wellesley commencement speech, she’s attending Yale Law School, and she’s on the forefront of student activism and the women’s rights movement. And then she meets Bill Clinton. A…

Jee reviews ‘Stranger in the Lake’ by Kimberly Belle @HarlequinBooks #NetGalley #StrangerInTheLake #eARC #BlogTour #Fiction #Psychological #Thriller #bookreview

Title/Author: Stranger in the Lake by Kimberly Belle Publisher: Harlequin Books Pages: 352 Publication Date: June 9, 2020 In a nutshell (Publisher): When Charlotte married the wealthy widower Paul, it caused a ripple of gossip in their small lakeside town. They have a charmed life together, despite the cruel whispers about her humble past and…

Jee’s #UnpopularOpinion on ‘Oona Out of Order’ by Margarita Montimore @FlatIronBooks #TimeTravel #Fiction #lightweekendread #GoodMorningAmericaBookClubPick

Title/Author: Oona Out Of Order by Margarita Montimore Publisher: Flatiron Books Pages: 327 In a nutshell (Publisher): It’s New Year’s Eve 1982, and Oona Lockhart has her whole life before her. At the stroke of midnight she will turn nineteen, and the year ahead promises to be one of consequence. Should she go to London…