Jee reviews ‘She Who Became the Sun’ by Shelley Parker-Chan @torbooks #SheWhoBecameTheSun #bookreview #booksbypoc #eARC #NetGalley #debutnovel #fantasy #histfic #fiction #historicalfantasy

Title/Author: She Who Became The Sun by Shelley Parker-Chan Publisher: Tor Books Pages: 404 In a nutshell (Publisher): To possess the Mandate of Heaven, the female monk Zhu will do anything “I refuse to be nothing…” In a famine-stricken village on a dusty yellow plain, two children are given two fates. A boy, greatness. A…

Jee reviews Ghost Forest by Pik-Shuen Fung @OneWorldLit #GhostForest #bookreview #asianlit #booksbypoc #debutnovel #fiction #asianliterature #immigrantstory #astronautfamily #chineseculture

Title/Author: Ghost Forest by Pik-Shuen Fung Publisher: One World Pages: 202 In a nutshell (Publisher): This “powerful” (BuzzFeed) debut about love, grief, and family welcomes you into its pages and invites you to linger, staying with you long after you’ve closed its covers. “I am madly in love with this book, a kaleidoscopic wonder.”—T Kira Madden, author…

Jee reviews ‘Brother, Sister, Mother, Explorer’ by Jamie Figueora @CatapultStory #bookreview #ARC #fable #fairytale #magicalrealism #fiction #BrotherSisterMotherExplorer #debutnovel #booksbypoc

Title/Author: Brother, Sister, Mother, Explorer by Jamie Figueora #ARC #debutnovel #debutauthor Pages: 224 Publisher: Catapult In a nutshell (Publisher): A sister trying to hold back her brother from the edge of the abyss, for readers of Jesmyn Ward and Tommy Orange. In the tourist town of Ciudad de Tres Hermanas, in the aftermath of their…

Jee reviews ‘Pianos and Flowers: Brief Encounters of the Romantic Kind’ by Alexander McCall Smith @PantheonBooks #PianosandFlowers #shortstories #anthologies #KnopfDoubleDay #fiction #shortstoriescollection #NetGalley #eARC

Title/Author: Pianos and Flowers by Alexander McCall Smith Publisher: Pantheon Pages: 192 In a nutshell (Publisher): A delightful collection of stories and photographs from the author of the No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency series, imagining the lives and loves of everyday people in the twentieth century Pictures capture moments in time, presenting the viewer with…

Jee reviews ‘The Exiles’ by Christina Baker Kline @bakerkline @customhousebks #TheExiles #historicalfiction #Australia #Mathinna #pageturner #TheCascadesFemaleFactory #FlindersIsland

Title/Author: The Exiles by Christina Baker Kline Publisher: Custom House Pages: 380 In a nutshell (Publisher): Seduced by her employer’s son, Evangeline, a naïve young governess in early nineteenth-century London, is discharged when her pregnancy is discovered and sent to the notorious Newgate Prison. After months in the fetid, overcrowded jail, she learns she is…

Jee’s Book Review: Anxious People by Fredrik Backman @Backmanland @AtriaBooks #bookreview #fiction #FredrikBackman #AnxiousPeople

Title/Author: Anxious People by Fredrik Backman Publisher: Atria Books Pages: 349 In a nutshell (Publisher): From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of A Man Called Ove comes a charming, poignant novel about a crime that never took place, a would-be bank robber who disappears into thin air, and eight extremely anxious strangers who find they have more…

Jee reviews ‘Betty by Tiffany McDaniel’ @AAKnopf #bookreview #betty #bettybook #eARC #TiffanyMcDaniel #racism #sexism #abuse #comingofage #poverty #fiction #basedontruestory

Title/Author: Betty by Tiffany McDaniel Publisher: Knopf  In a nutshell (Publisher): A stunning, lyrical novel set in the rolling foothills of the Appalachians about a young girl and the family truths that will haunt her for the rest of her life “A girl comes of age against the knife.” So begins the story of Betty…

Jee reviews ‘Last One Out Shut Off The Lights’ by Stephanie Soileau @SMSoileau! Come check out this stunning collection of short stories and enter the giveaway to win a copy for yourself! @littlebrown #bookreview #shortstories #giveaway #debut #fiction #Louisiana

Title/Author: Last One Out Shut Off the Lights by Stephanie Soileau Publisher: Little Brown & Company Pages: 256 In a nutshell: Last One Out Shut Off the Lights is an evocative portrait of the last-chance towns of southwest Louisiana, where oil development, industrial pollution, dying wetlands, and the ever-present threat of devastating hurricanes have eroded their…

Hilarious, full of heart and unputdownable! Jee reviews ‘Deacon King Kong’ by James McBride #DeaconKingKong #bookreview @Riverheadbooks #JamesMcBride #OprahsBookClub #fiction #drugwar #race #class

Title/Author: Deacon King Kong by James McBride Publisher: Riverhead Books Pages: 383 In a nutshell (Publisher): From the author of the National Book Award–winning The Good Lord Bird and the bestselling modern classic The Color of Water, comes one of the most celebrated novels of the year. In September 1969, a fumbling, cranky old church deacon known as…

What if Hillary didn’t marry Bill Clinton? Jee reviews ‘Rodham’ by Curtis Sittenfeld @RandomHouse #Bookreview #WhatIf #Fiction #WomenLeaders #powerfulwomen #Hillary #Rodham

Title/Author: Rodham by Curtis Sittenfeld Publisher: Random House Pages: 420 In a nutshell: In 1971, Hillary Rodham is a young woman full of promise: Life magazine has covered her Wellesley commencement speech, she’s attending Yale Law School, and she’s on the forefront of student activism and the women’s rights movement. And then she meets Bill Clinton. A…