Jee reviews ‘People From My Neighborhood’ by Hiromi Kawakami translated by Ted Goossen #PeopleFromMyNeighborhood @softskull #bookreview #ARC #HiromiKawakami #shortstories #magicalrealism #fables #myths #AsianAuthor #AsianLit #JapaneseLit #Japan #SoftSkullPress #JapaneseAuthor #translatedbook

Title/Author: People From My Neighborhood by Hiromi Kawakami Publisher: Soft Skull Press Pages: 176 In a nutshell (Publisher): From the author of the internationally bestselling Strange Weather in Tokyo, a collection of interlinking stories that masterfully blend the mundane and the mythical—”fairy tales in the best Brothers Grimm tradition: naïf, magical, and frequently veering into the…

Of haunted jungles, macabre mansions, possessed lands and bodies…Jee reviews ‘Build Your House Around My Body’ by Violet Kupersmith @oneworldnews @randomhouse #bookreview #fiction #asianlit #booksbypoc #bookreview #magicalrealism #asianfolklore #Vietnam #FrenchWar #buildyourhousearoundmybody

Title/Author: Build Your House Around My Body by Violet Kupersmith Publisher: Random House Pages: 400 In a nutshell (Publisher): Two young women go missing decades apart. Both are fearless, both are lost. And both will have their revenge.1986: The teenage daughter of a wealthy Vietnamese family loses her way in an abandoned rubber plantation while…

Jee reviews ‘Brother, Sister, Mother, Explorer’ by Jamie Figueora @CatapultStory #bookreview #ARC #fable #fairytale #magicalrealism #fiction #BrotherSisterMotherExplorer #debutnovel #booksbypoc

Title/Author: Brother, Sister, Mother, Explorer by Jamie Figueora #ARC #debutnovel #debutauthor Pages: 224 Publisher: Catapult In a nutshell (Publisher): A sister trying to hold back her brother from the edge of the abyss, for readers of Jesmyn Ward and Tommy Orange. In the tourist town of Ciudad de Tres Hermanas, in the aftermath of their…

Looking for a dark, magical read for Christmas? Jee reviews ‘The Midnight Circus’ by @JaneYolen @TachyonPub #bookreview #TheMidnightCircus #darkfairytales #folklore #fantasy #magic #magicalrealism #retelling

Title/Author: The Midnight Circus by Jane Yolen Publisher: Tachyon Publication Pages: 256 In a nutshell (Publisher): In the newest volume of her World Fantasy Award-winning short story collections, beloved author Jane Yolen’s dark side has fully emerged. Her vivid, startling, and thrilling tales and poems of the supernatural―from icy-hearted witches to sometimes-innocent shapeshifters―reveal a classic…

Jee reviews #Earthlings by Sayaka Murata translated by Ginny Tapley Takemori @GroveAtlantic #bookreview #NetGalley #eARC #comingofage #alienation #grotesque #horror #magicalrealism #bizarre #asianlit #japaneselit

Title/Author: Earthlings by Sayaka Murata Publisher: Grove Press Pages: 240 In a nutshell (Publisher): From the beloved author of cult sensation Convenience Store Woman, which has now sold more than one million copies worldwide and has been translated into thirty-three languages, comes a spellbinding and otherworldly novel about a woman who believes she is an alien….

Jee reviews a beautiful, richly imaginative book: The Starless Sea by @erinmorgenstern #TheStarlessSea @doubledaybooks #fantasy #fabulism #lgbtq #doors #favauthor #bookreview

Title/Author: The Starless Sea by Erin Morgenstern Publisher: Doubleday Pages: 487 In a nutshell (Publisher): Zachary Ezra Rawlins is a graduate student in Vermont when he discovers a mysterious book hidden in the stacks. As he turns the pages, entranced by tales of lovelorn prisoners, key collectors, and nameless acolytes, he reads something strange: a…

Jee reviews ‘The Ten Thousand Doors of January’ by Alix E. Harrow #UnpopularOpinion #eARC #NetGalley #RedHook @HachetteUS #HistoricalFantasy #MagicalRealism #doors

Title/Author: The Ten Thousand Doors of January by Alix E. Harrow Publisher: Redhook In a nutshell (Publisher): In the early 1900s, a young woman embarks on a fantastical journey of self-discovery after finding a mysterious book in this captivating and lyrical debut.In a sprawling mansion filled with peculiar treasures, January Scaller is a curiosity herself….

Jee reviews ‘The Water Dancer’ #TheWaterDancer by Ta-Nehisi Coates #TaNehisiCoates @RandomHouse #RandomHouse @OprahsBookClub #NetGalley #eARC #magicalRealism #fictionFantasy #historicalFiction

Title/Author: The Water Dancer by Ta-Nehisi Coats Publisher: One World/Random House In a nutshell (Publisher): OPRAH’S BOOK CLUB PICK • From the National Book Award–winning author of Between the World and Me, a boldly conjured debut novel about a magical gift, a devastating loss, and an underground war for freedom. “This potent book about America’s most disgraceful sin…