Jee reviews Ghost Forest by Pik-Shuen Fung @OneWorldLit #GhostForest #bookreview #asianlit #booksbypoc #debutnovel #fiction #asianliterature #immigrantstory #astronautfamily #chineseculture

Title/Author: Ghost Forest by Pik-Shuen Fung Publisher: One World Pages: 202 In a nutshell (Publisher): This “powerful” (BuzzFeed) debut about love, grief, and family welcomes you into its pages and invites you to linger, staying with you long after you’ve closed its covers. “I am madly in love with this book, a kaleidoscopic wonder.”—T Kira Madden, author…

Is Jacob guilty of murder? Jee reviews ‘Defending Jacob’ by William Landay #SPOILERFREE #bookreview #defendingjacob #legalthriller #TVseries #courtroomdrama #family #parenting #fiction

Title/Author: Defending Jacob by William Landay Publisher: Delacorte Press Pages: 432 In a nutshell (Publisher): NOW AN EMMY-NOMINATED ORIGINAL STREAMING SERIES • NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY Entertainment Weekly • Boston Globe • Kansas City Star Andy Barber has been an assistant district attorney for two decades. He is respected. Admired in the courtroom. Happy at home…

Jee reviews ‘Strange Weather in Tokyo’ by Hiromi Kawakami translated by Allison Markin Powell @CounterpointLLC #bookreview #asianauthor #booksbypoc #asianliterature #asianlit #japliterature #strangeweatherintokyo #favoriteread #translatedbook

Title/Author: Strange Weather in Tokyo by Hiromi Kawakami translated by Allison Markin Powell Publisher: Counterpoint LLC Pages: 190 In a nutshell (Publisher): Shortlisted for the 2013 Man Asian Literary Prize, Strange Weather in Tokyo is a story of loneliness and love that defies age. Tsukiko, thirty–eight, works in an office and lives alone. One night, she happens…

Jee’s Book Review: ‘The Final Revival of Opal and Nev’ by Dawnie Walton @simonschuster #OpalNev #NetGalley #BookReview #fiction #BooksbyPOC #eARC #BooksbyBlackAuthors #debutnovel #newauthor

Title/Author: The Final Revival of Opal & Nev by Dawnie Walton Publisher: Simon & Schuster Pages: 367 In a nutshell (Publisher): An electrifying novel about the meteoric rise of an iconic interracial rock duo in the 1970s, their sensational breakup, and the dark secrets unearthed when they try to reunite decades later for one last…

Jee’s book review: Spark: How Genius Ignites, From Child Prodigies to Late Bloomers by @claudiakalbwriter #SparkGenius #bookreview #nonfiction @tlcbooktours #tlcbooktours

Title: Spark: How Genius Ignites, From Child Prodigies to Late Bloomers by Claudia Kalb Publisher: National Geographic (April 27, 2021) Hardcover: 368 pages In a nutshell (Publisher): Yo-Yo Ma’s ear for music emerged not long after he learned to walk. By the age of seven, he was performing for President Kennedy; by fifteen he debuted at…

Jee’s Book Review: ‘New Yorkers: A City and Its People in Our Time’ by Craig Taylor @wwnorton #bookreview #eARC #NetGalley #NewYorkersbook #NewYorkers #NewYork #nonfiction #interviews

Title/Author: New Yorkers by Craig Taylor Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company Pages: 432 In a nutshell (Publisher): A symphony of contemporary New York through the magnificent words of its people―from the best-selling author of Londoners. In the first twenty years of the twenty-first century, New York City has been convulsed by terrorist attack, blackout, hurricane,…

Jee reviews ‘Brother, Sister, Mother, Explorer’ by Jamie Figueora @CatapultStory #bookreview #ARC #fable #fairytale #magicalrealism #fiction #BrotherSisterMotherExplorer #debutnovel #booksbypoc

Title/Author: Brother, Sister, Mother, Explorer by Jamie Figueora #ARC #debutnovel #debutauthor Pages: 224 Publisher: Catapult In a nutshell (Publisher): A sister trying to hold back her brother from the edge of the abyss, for readers of Jesmyn Ward and Tommy Orange. In the tourist town of Ciudad de Tres Hermanas, in the aftermath of their…

Jee reviews ‘Find Me in Havana’ by Serena Burdick @parkrowbooks #FindMeInHavana #bookreview #EstelitaRodriguez #motherdaughterrelationship #HistoricalFiction #NetGalley #basedontruestory #eARC

Title/Author: Find Me In Havana by Serena Burdick Publisher: Park Row Pages: 265 In a nutshell (Publisher): From the bestselling author of THE GIRLS WITH NO NAMES, a new historical novel based on the dazzling story of one of Hollywood’s most celebrated Hispanic actresses and her daughter’s search for closure. “Told in a series of letters, FIND…

Jee reviews ‘Pianos and Flowers: Brief Encounters of the Romantic Kind’ by Alexander McCall Smith @PantheonBooks #PianosandFlowers #shortstories #anthologies #KnopfDoubleDay #fiction #shortstoriescollection #NetGalley #eARC

Title/Author: Pianos and Flowers by Alexander McCall Smith Publisher: Pantheon Pages: 192 In a nutshell (Publisher): A delightful collection of stories and photographs from the author of the No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency series, imagining the lives and loves of everyday people in the twentieth century Pictures capture moments in time, presenting the viewer with…

Jee reviews ‘The Exiles’ by Christina Baker Kline @bakerkline @customhousebks #TheExiles #historicalfiction #Australia #Mathinna #pageturner #TheCascadesFemaleFactory #FlindersIsland

Title/Author: The Exiles by Christina Baker Kline Publisher: Custom House Pages: 380 In a nutshell (Publisher): Seduced by her employer’s son, Evangeline, a naïve young governess in early nineteenth-century London, is discharged when her pregnancy is discovered and sent to the notorious Newgate Prison. After months in the fetid, overcrowded jail, she learns she is…