Jee reviews ‘The Book of Hope: A Survival Guide for Trying Times’ by Jane Goodall and Douglas Abrams with Gail Hudson @JaneGoodallInst @CeladonBooks #bookreview #CeladonBooks #CeladonReads #Partner #nonfiction #thebookofhope #inspiring #mothernature #series #GlobalIconSeries

Title/Author: The Book of Hope: A Survival Guide for Trying Times by Jane Goodall and Douglas Abrams with Gail Hudson Publisher: Celadon Books Pages: 272 In a nutshell (Publisher): My thoughts: This is another brilliant book! I mean, how can it not be when it’s by Jane Goodall, right! Definitely adding this to my top…

Of haunted jungles, macabre mansions, possessed lands and bodies…Jee reviews ‘Build Your House Around My Body’ by Violet Kupersmith @oneworldnews @randomhouse #bookreview #fiction #asianlit #booksbypoc #bookreview #magicalrealism #asianfolklore #Vietnam #FrenchWar #buildyourhousearoundmybody

Title/Author: Build Your House Around My Body by Violet Kupersmith Publisher: Random House Pages: 400 In a nutshell (Publisher): Two young women go missing decades apart. Both are fearless, both are lost. And both will have their revenge.1986: The teenage daughter of a wealthy Vietnamese family loses her way in an abandoned rubber plantation while…

Jee reviews ‘The Book of Magic’ by Alice Hoffman @SimonSchuster #UnpopularOpinion #bookreview #TheBookOfMagic #PracticalMagicFinale #PracticalMagicSeries #series #magicalrealism #witches #favauthor #fiction

Title/Author: The Book of Magic by Alice Hoffman Publisher: Simon & Schuster Pages: 396 In a nutshell (Publisher): The Owens family has been cursed in matters of love for over three-hundred years but all of that is about to change. The novel begins in a library, the best place for a story to be conjured,…

Jee reviews Ghost Forest by Pik-Shuen Fung @OneWorldLit #GhostForest #bookreview #asianlit #booksbypoc #debutnovel #fiction #asianliterature #immigrantstory #astronautfamily #chineseculture

Title/Author: Ghost Forest by Pik-Shuen Fung Publisher: One World Pages: 202 In a nutshell (Publisher): This “powerful” (BuzzFeed) debut about love, grief, and family welcomes you into its pages and invites you to linger, staying with you long after you’ve closed its covers. “I am madly in love with this book, a kaleidoscopic wonder.”—T Kira Madden, author…

Is Jacob guilty of murder? Jee reviews ‘Defending Jacob’ by William Landay #SPOILERFREE #bookreview #defendingjacob #legalthriller #TVseries #courtroomdrama #family #parenting #fiction

Title/Author: Defending Jacob by William Landay Publisher: Delacorte Press Pages: 432 In a nutshell (Publisher): NOW AN EMMY-NOMINATED ORIGINAL STREAMING SERIES • NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY Entertainment Weekly • Boston Globe • Kansas City Star Andy Barber has been an assistant district attorney for two decades. He is respected. Admired in the courtroom. Happy at home…

Jee reviews ‘Strange Weather in Tokyo’ by Hiromi Kawakami translated by Allison Markin Powell @CounterpointLLC #bookreview #asianauthor #booksbypoc #asianliterature #asianlit #japliterature #strangeweatherintokyo #favoriteread #translatedbook

Title/Author: Strange Weather in Tokyo by Hiromi Kawakami translated by Allison Markin Powell Publisher: Counterpoint LLC Pages: 190 In a nutshell (Publisher): Shortlisted for the 2013 Man Asian Literary Prize, Strange Weather in Tokyo is a story of loneliness and love that defies age. Tsukiko, thirty–eight, works in an office and lives alone. One night, she happens…

Jee’s Book Review: ‘The Final Revival of Opal and Nev’ by Dawnie Walton @simonschuster #OpalNev #NetGalley #BookReview #fiction #BooksbyPOC #eARC #BooksbyBlackAuthors #debutnovel #newauthor

Title/Author: The Final Revival of Opal & Nev by Dawnie Walton Publisher: Simon & Schuster Pages: 367 In a nutshell (Publisher): An electrifying novel about the meteoric rise of an iconic interracial rock duo in the 1970s, their sensational breakup, and the dark secrets unearthed when they try to reunite decades later for one last…

Jee’s book review: Spark: How Genius Ignites, From Child Prodigies to Late Bloomers by @claudiakalbwriter #SparkGenius #bookreview #nonfiction @tlcbooktours #tlcbooktours

Title: Spark: How Genius Ignites, From Child Prodigies to Late Bloomers by Claudia Kalb Publisher: National Geographic (April 27, 2021) Hardcover: 368 pages In a nutshell (Publisher): Yo-Yo Ma’s ear for music emerged not long after he learned to walk. By the age of seven, he was performing for President Kennedy; by fifteen he debuted at…

Jee’s Book Review: ‘New Yorkers: A City and Its People in Our Time’ by Craig Taylor @wwnorton #bookreview #eARC #NetGalley #NewYorkersbook #NewYorkers #NewYork #nonfiction #interviews

Title/Author: New Yorkers by Craig Taylor Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company Pages: 432 In a nutshell (Publisher): A symphony of contemporary New York through the magnificent words of its people―from the best-selling author of Londoners. In the first twenty years of the twenty-first century, New York City has been convulsed by terrorist attack, blackout, hurricane,…

Jee reviews ‘Brother, Sister, Mother, Explorer’ by Jamie Figueora @CatapultStory #bookreview #ARC #fable #fairytale #magicalrealism #fiction #BrotherSisterMotherExplorer #debutnovel #booksbypoc

Title/Author: Brother, Sister, Mother, Explorer by Jamie Figueora #ARC #debutnovel #debutauthor Pages: 224 Publisher: Catapult In a nutshell (Publisher): A sister trying to hold back her brother from the edge of the abyss, for readers of Jesmyn Ward and Tommy Orange. In the tourist town of Ciudad de Tres Hermanas, in the aftermath of their…