Jee’s #WWWWednesday! #bookreviewer #bookblogger

20180829_203529_0001

It’s Wednesday and it’s time for…. WWW Wednesday! Hosted on Taking On A World of Words.

What are the 3 Ws?

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?

51gt5p1F46L._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_Currently reading: (Ooops I changed my mind. Supposed to be reading ‘the woman in the window’ by A. J. Finn…Haha Oh well!)

An Absolutely Remarkable Thing: A Novel by Hank Green

Synopsis (Amazon):

In his much-anticipated debut novel, Hank Green—cocreator of Crash Course, Vlogbrothers, and SciShow—spins a sweeping, cinematic tale about a young woman who becomes an overnight celebrity before realizing she’s part of something bigger, and stranger, than anyone could have possibly imagined.

The Carls just appeared.

Roaming through New York City at three a.m., twenty-three-year-old April May stumbles across a giant sculpture. Delighted by its appearance and craftsmanship—like a ten-foot-tall Transformer wearing a suit of samurai armor—April and her friend, Andy, make a video with it, which Andy uploads to YouTube. The next day, April wakes up to a viral video and a new life. News quickly spreads that there are Carls in dozens of cities around the world—from Beijing to Buenos Aires—and April, as their first documentarian, finds herself at the center of an intense international media spotlight.

Seizing the opportunity to make her mark on the world, April now has to deal with the consequences her new particular brand of fame has on her relationships, her safety, and her own identity. And all eyes are on April to figure out not just what the Carls are, but what they want from us.

Compulsively entertaining and powerfully relevant, An Absolutely Remarkable Thinggrapples with big themes, including how the social internet is changing fame, rhetoric, and radicalization; how our culture deals with fear and uncertainty; and how vilification and adoration spring for the same dehumanization that follows a life in the public eye. The beginning of an exciting fiction career, An Absolutely Remarkable Thing is a bold and insightful novel of now.

51B7qwoHBxL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_

Recently read:

Billion Dollar Whale by Tom Wright & Bradley Hope

Synopsis (Amazon): In 2009, with the dust yet to settle on the financial crisis, a mild-mannered Wharton grad set in motion a fraud of unprecedented gall and magnitude–one that would come to symbolize the next great threat to the global financial system. The scandal is known as 1MDB, and the man behind it, Jho Low, is a figure so preposterous he might seem made up.

“An epic tale of white-collar crime on a global scale” (Publishers Weekly, starred review), Billion Dollar Whale reveals how this young social climber pulled off one of the biggest heists in history. Over a half decade, Low siphoned billions from an investment fund–right under the nose of the global financial industry. Low used the money to finance elections, purchase luxury real estate, throw champagne-drenched parties, and even to finance Hollywood films like The Wolf of Wall Street.

Federal agents who helped unravel Bernie Madoff’s Ponzi scheme say the 1MDB affair will become the textbook case of financial fraud in the modern age–and its fallout is already being credited for taking down the prime minister of Malaysia. With his yacht and private jet reportedly seized by authorities and facing money-laundering charges in Malaysia, an Interpol red notice, and an ongoing U.S. Department of Justice Investigation, Low has become an international fugitive.

Soon to be made into a movie and produced by non other than Michelle Yeoh!

Review up soon.

519iQ0ZzduL._SX330_BO1,204,203,200_Next read: The Woman in The Window by A.J. Finn (Maybe. Not sure LOL)

Synopsis (Amazon):

For readers of Gillian Flynn and Tana French comes one of the decade’s most anticipated debuts, to be published in thirty-six languages around the world and already in development as a major film from Fox: a twisty, powerful Hitchcockian thriller about an agoraphobic woman who believes she witnessed a crime in a neighboring house.

It isn’t paranoia if it’s really happening . . .

Anna Fox lives alone—a recluse in her New York City home, unable to venture outside. She spends her day drinking wine (maybe too much), watching old movies, recalling happier times . . . and spying on her neighbors.

Then the Russells move into the house across the way: a father, a mother, their teenage son. The perfect family. But when Anna, gazing out her window one night, sees something she shouldn’t, her world begins to crumble—and its shocking secrets are laid bare.

What is real? What is imagined? Who is in danger? Who is in control? In this diabolically gripping thriller, no one—and nothing—is what it seems.

What is your WWW? Write it in the comments or just attach your link 🙂

Till then, HAPPY READING!

20180901_144153

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Jenna M says:

    Oooh, I hope you’re enjoying An Absolutely Remarkable Thing. I loved it. Such a fun book! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jee Wan says:

      I hope too, Jenna! It’s been getting such positive reviews!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. pcochrun says:

    I really enjoyed Woman in the Window, and talked to a friend the other day who liked it too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jee Wan says:

      Gosh now you are getting me all excited about it hahahaha ❤️

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve not got any of those three lined up yet. Need to find out more about them 🙂
    I just finished Brown Girl In The Ring by Nalo Hopkinson. Absolutely a Wow book!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jee Wan says:

      So glad you enjoyed your latest read! Do you plan to review it?

      Like

  4. These all sound so good, Jee! I’ll be watching for your reviews, especially the whale one! Happy reading ahead! 💗

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jee Wan says:

      Thanks Jennifer! And thank you for always dropping by and commenting 🙂 And my…I enjoyed the Whale book! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Rae Longest says:

    They seem like good books. Love your Uncle Sam.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Robbie Yates says:

    These all sound great!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Daniela Ark says:

    oh I cannot wait for your review of The Woman in The Window Jee! Sounds GOOD! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jee Wan says:

      Thanks Daniela! It has gotten many positive reviews!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s