Jee reviews an uplifting, inspiring read for the new year: The Boy, The Mole, The Fox and The Horse by Charlie MacKesy @charliemackesy @HarperOne Happy 2020, everyone!

Title/Author: The Boy, The Mole, The Fox and The Horse by Charlie MacKesy

Publisher: Harper One

In a nutshell (Publisher):

From the revered British illustrator, a modern fable for all ages that explores life’s universal lessons, featuring 100 color and black-and-white drawings.

“What do you want to be when you grow up?” asked the mole.

“Kind,” said the boy.

Charlie Mackesy offers inspiration and hope in uncertain times in this beautiful book based on his famous quartet of characters. The Boy, the Mole, the Fox, and the Horse explores their unlikely friendship and the poignant, universal lessons they learn together.

Radiant with Mackesy’s warmth and gentle wit, The Boy, the Mole, the Fox, and the Horse blends hand-written narrative with dozens of drawings, including some of his best-loved illustrations (including “Help,” which has been shared over one million times) and new, never-before-seen material. A modern classic in the vein of The Tao of Pooh, The Alchemist, and The Giving Tree, this charmingly designed keepsake will be treasured for generations to come.

Verdict: Must-read, must-have, must-gift!

My thoughts:

Wow. This book. Not only does it have beautiful, gorgeous illustrations, but it was also filled with uplifting, inspiring messages. And they aren’t those typical ones you often read in other self-help books. This has got really simple, heartwarming, tender, yet thought-provoking quotes about love, friendship, kindness that will lift your soul.

I’ve attached some of the sketches and quotes from the book to prove my point. But it still won’t do it justice. You’d want to hold the book in your hands, turn the pages, see the illustrations for yourself, feel its curves, lines, brush strokes, for its magic to seep into your soul. My husband, a non-reader, was so blown away by it that he couldn’t stop talking about it after reading and re-reading it. This book is HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

Start your new year with this book. You won’t go wrong! And yes, it also makes such a great gift!

Have you read this book? What did you think? If you haven’t, do you intend to? Please share with me your thoughts.

Last but not least, HAVE A HAPPY & BLESSED NEW YEAR! May this 2020 bring you all that you hope for and more!

Another inspiring book I read and reviewed on New Year’s day 2019: How To Be A Good Creature by Sy Montgomery

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Rae Reads says:

    This reminds me of the French classic, The Little Prince.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jee Wan says:

      Yes it has similar tones and qualities! I love The Little Prince! Some say it reminds them of Winnie the Pooh too 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. crazeedi73 says:

    I received this book as a gift, it’s just beautiful and such a joy to look at and read! Happy 2020!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jee Wan says:

      I totally agree, Diane! This book is a treasure! I also gifted it to a friend who loves it too!!😊 Happy 2020 to you too! 💕

      Like

  3. What a beautiful book! I saw this back in October, when visiting London. I took pics of it but didn’t pick it up. A big mistake on my part, unfortunately! Wonderful review, Jee ♡

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jee Wan says:

      Aw…I think you’d have loved this book, Scarlett! Especially if you liked The Little Prince! 🙂

      Like

  4. You make me so happy I bought this one over the holidays, Jee! What a lovely, heartfelt review of what sounds like a completely charming book!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jee Wan says:

      Yayyy! So glad you have a copy too! Hope you’ll enjoy it as much as I did, Jennifer!💕

      Liked by 1 person

  5. The illustrations were wonderful. The message would never have worked between people. The only reason the book was sweet was because animals were involved. I am shocked that the book is so popular. Aside from the fabulous illustrations, I thought it was ridiculous. Apparently, a lot of people had a difficult time reading the words. I think cake is always a good idea and so is hanging around with animals, but the message, well, sorry, but no, not in today’s world.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jee Wan says:

      I love reading a different opinion and thank you for sharing! I guess that’s the reason the author wrote it, hoping it’d inspire the people of ‘today’s world’, to show a little more kindness and love 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply to jennifertarheelreader Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s