Jee’s #WWWWednesday!

20180829_203529_0001

It’s Wednesday and it’s time for…. WWW Wednesday! Hosted on Taking On A World of Words.

What are the 3 Ws?

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?

51B7qwoHBxL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_Currently reading:

Billion Dollar Whale by Tom Wright & Bradley Hope

Synopsis (Amazon): In 2009, with the dust yet to settle on the financial crisis, a mild-mannered Wharton grad set in motion a fraud of unprecedented gall and magnitude–one that would come to symbolize the next great threat to the global financial system. The scandal is known as 1MDB, and the man behind it, Jho Low, is a figure so preposterous he might seem made up.

“An epic tale of white-collar crime on a global scale” (Publishers Weekly, starred review), Billion Dollar Whale reveals how this young social climber pulled off one of the biggest heists in history. Over a half decade, Low siphoned billions from an investment fund–right under the nose of the global financial industry. Low used the money to finance elections, purchase luxury real estate, throw champagne-drenched parties, and even to finance Hollywood films like The Wolf of Wall Street.

Federal agents who helped unravel Bernie Madoff’s Ponzi scheme say the 1MDB affair will become the textbook case of financial fraud in the modern age–and its fallout is already being credited for taking down the prime minister of Malaysia. With his yacht and private jet reportedly seized by authorities and facing money-laundering charges in Malaysia, an Interpol red notice, and an ongoing U.S. Department of Justice Investigation, Low has become an international fugitive.

Soon to be made into a movie and produced by non other than Michelle Yeoh!

Recently finished: 

Screenshot_20181003-211148_Amazon ShoppingThe House of One Thousand Eyes by Michelle Barker

Synopsis (Amazon): Life in East Germany in the early 1980s is not easy for most people, but for Lena, it’s particularly hard. After the death of her parents in a factory explosion and time spent in a psychiatric hospital recovering from the trauma, she is sent to live with her stern aunt, a devoted member of the ruling Communist Party. Visits with her beloved Uncle Erich, a best-selling author, are her only respite.

But one night, her uncle disappears without a trace. Gone also are all his belongings, his books, and even his birth records. Lena is desperate to know what happened to him, but it’s as if he never existed.

The worst thing, however, is that she cannot discuss her uncle or her attempts to find him with anyone, not even her best friends. There are government spies everywhere. But Lena is unafraid and refuses to give up her search, regardless of the consequences.

This searing novel about defiance, courage, and determination takes readers into the chilling world of a society ruled by autocratic despots, where nothing is what it seems.

Review here.

the-library-book-9781476740188_hrThe Library Book by Susan Orlean

In a nutshell:

On the morning of April 29, 1986, a fire alarm sounded in the LA Public Library. The fire burned for more than 7 hours, engulfing the library in its ferocity. By the time it was extinguished, it had consumed 400,000 books and damaged 700,000 more. Investigations have been done, but 30 years later, it still remained a mystery. We still don’t know if someone set the library on fire. If so, who? Why?

Review here.

519iQ0ZzduL._SX330_BO1,204,203,200_Next read: The Woman in The Window by A.J. Finn (Maybe. Not sure LOL)

Synopsis (Amazon):

For readers of Gillian Flynn and Tana French comes one of the decade’s most anticipated debuts, to be published in thirty-six languages around the world and already in development as a major film from Fox: a twisty, powerful Hitchcockian thriller about an agoraphobic woman who believes she witnessed a crime in a neighboring house.

It isn’t paranoia if it’s really happening . . .

Anna Fox lives alone—a recluse in her New York City home, unable to venture outside. She spends her day drinking wine (maybe too much), watching old movies, recalling happier times . . . and spying on her neighbors.

Then the Russells move into the house across the way: a father, a mother, their teenage son. The perfect family. But when Anna, gazing out her window one night, sees something she shouldn’t, her world begins to crumble—and its shocking secrets are laid bare.

What is real? What is imagined? Who is in danger? Who is in control? In this diabolically gripping thriller, no one—and nothing—is what it seems.

What is your WWW? Write it in the comments or just attach your link 🙂

20180901_144153

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Irene says:

    I just finished ‘The Wrong Billionaires Bed’ by Jessica Clare, I am currently reading ‘Rooms’ by Lauren Oliver (but I don’t know if I like it so I am unsure if I am going to bother to continue) and my next read is ‘Fear’ by Bob Woodward.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jee Wan says:

      Thanks for sharing, Irene! Looks like we are both reading something about Billionaires! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Jee Wan says:

      How was the Wrong Billionaire’s Bed? Don’t feel bad about not continuing if you don’t like it… 🙂

      Like

      1. Irene says:

        It was ‘okay’ – I actually found the characters kind of annoying and there were plot lines that I wish had been expanded on. At the end of the day for a sexy read- it was what it was. Don’t get me wrong I like romantic reads- but I would prefer a bit more story. The end felt rushed. I’d probably read the other books in the series if I’m in the mood for a bit of fluff by the pool or on the beach.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Jee Wan says:

        Wow hats off you for giving the other books in the series a chance! Bravo to you!

        Like

  2. I just finished Where the Crawdad’s Sing by Delia Owens and really liked it! I’m currently reading Rough Passage to London by Robin Lloyd. It’s not the typical timeframe of historical fiction books I read (early to mid-1800’s) but it’s pretty good so far! I’m not sure what is next – probably either The Girl with Seven Names about a North Korean defector or Kate Morton’s new book The Clockmaker’s Daughter.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jee Wan says:

      Thanks for sharing. I have Crawdad’s Sing in my TBR…Not sure when I’ll be reading it tho…OOOH! My sis read The Girl with Seven Names. She said it was really good!

      Like

  3. Mani says:

    Great selection of books. I have The Woman in The Window on my want to read list, which is nearly as long as my TBR list/pile. Can’t wait to read your thoughts on this book when you’ve finished.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jee Wan says:

      TQ Mani! I hope I won’t change my mind 🙂 I’m such a mood reader! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I can’t wait for your thoughts on the Whale book, Jee! Lots of wonderful books here and I love that last pic! Xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jee Wan says:

      The Whale book is great so far! Thanks again Jennifer! xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Daniela Ark says:

    OH i’m pretty sure I saw at last two great rev! I hope you love it Jee!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jee Wan says:

      I hope so too! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply to jennifertarheelreader Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s